LIFEHACK: HOW TO TRANSPORT A BICYCLE ABROAD?

If you follow my accounts on facebook or instagram, you've probably already seen that on another vacation, I got an idea to take a bike.

Despite my wife's rather convincing and utterly negative arguments, the presence of a pram and the surprised eyes of our three children, I decided to take my bike from Almaty to Antalya. The head of the family said and basta!

Alanya is beautiful in autumn. In Turkey, the velvet season begins in September.

I will now try to tell you what the consequences of this decision were and whether you need a bike in Turkey.

PRICE FOR CARRYING A BICYCLE

First of all, you need to find out the rules for transporting your bicycle from the airline you are flying with. And most importantly, the price for transporting it. Some airlines do not charge a fee for transporting bicycles. Air Astana charges 15,000 KZT or 50 EUR per one way.

Perhaps the rules at Air Astana were written when 15,000 tenge was equal to 50 euro, but I preferred to count in tenge in this case, having paid 15,000 tenge in Almaty to the Air Astana ticket office for the bike to Antalya airport.

A mishap happened on the way back. In Antalya, the airport staff asked me for 50 euros. There was nowhere to go. The native Air Astana employees were not around and I had to pay 50 EUR instead of 15,000 KZT.

REGISTER YOUR BICYCLE

Be sure to call the airline you are flying with, even if you bought your ticket on some online aggregator website. A bicycle needs to be checked in as separate cargo. It is not hand baggage which can be carried inside the aircraft.

It is not a suitcase that should be with other suitcases in the luggage compartment. It is sports equipment that needs to be checked in as sports equipment. It can be fragile and expensive. Special care is needed here. If you use your agency, they will be happy to do this for you. After all, they communicate with airline representatives every day and it does not cause any problems for a normal agent.

TRANSPORT REGULATIONS

Usually the rules are that the bike must be packed for transport. This means removing the wheels, letting the tyre pressure down. Remove the pedals. It is advisable to pack the bike in a special case or pouch. If the case is hard, it removes the problem of bike safety. I had a soft case, which I was kindly provided by my friends at store Lab.ProTeam. Thank you very much for that!

Remember, it is in your own interest to pack your bike compactly and safely for transport. For example, I unscrewed the handlebar and secured it to the bike frame with straps so that it didn't protrude too much beyond the overall dimensions of the case. I also removed the saddle, as it was also sticking out of the overall package.

IF THERE IS NO COVER/CASE

I know that a lot of guys just transport their bikes in bicycle boxes. They take one from the nearest bike shop in advance and pack the bike in the box. It's convenient, practical and safe in terms of damage.

WHERE TO STORE A BIKE IN THE HOTEL?

The hotel staff took a long time to understand why I didn't want to store my bike in my room. I had to explain to them that I have three children, suitcases and a pram, all in a two-room room on the sixth floor. It would be difficult for me to go down and up every morning with the bike. Anyway, after a 15-minute explanation of the details, the hotel gave me a luggage room on the ground floor next to the main entrance. Normally this room is used to temporarily store luggage for arriving and departing guests. And now a strange tourist's bicycle was stored there.

IS THIS TORTURE REALLY NECESSARY?

Yes, definitely! During my holiday I managed to drive around all the major and minor roads within a 50km radius around the hotel. To see the life of the locals, which you don't see sitting in a hotel or visiting tourist spots. They were ordinary farmers who grew bananas, oranges and pomegranate. They don't grow apples, by the way.

My training was filled with the morning sea fresh air, the scent of conifers in the mountains and the singing of unfamiliar bird species. I managed to meet different people just because I was on a bike. People came up on their own, asking about the bike, asking where I was from — they were just curious.

And the main conclusion I drew for myself this time was that I would like my children to grow up sooner and we would travel with more than one bike.

I so wanted to show these beauties to my family, but when I got to the hotel and went up to my room, they were still sleeping quietly. So, this won't be my last trip with my bike!

You may also like

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

ЛАЙФХАК: КАК ПЕРЕВЕЗТИ ВЕЛОСИПЕД ЗА ГРАНИЦУ?

Если вы следите за моими аккаунтами в фейсбук или инстаграм, вы скорее всего, уже видели, что в очередной отпуск мне вздумалось взять велосипед.

Не смотря на довольно убедительные и совершенно отрицательные доводы моей супруги, наличие детской коляски и удивленные глаза наших троих детей, я решил взять из Алматы в Анталию свой велосипед. Глава семейства сказал и баста!

Алания прекрасна осенью. В Турции в сентябре начинается бархатный сезон.

А сейчас я попытаюсь вам рассказать чем было чревато такое решение и нужен ли вам велосипед в Турции.

ЦЕНА ЗА ПРОВОЗ ВЕЛОСИПЕДА

В первую очередь, вам нужно узнать правила перевозки велосипеда в авиакомпании, которой вы летите. И, самое главное, цену за его перевозку. Некоторые авиакомпании не берут деньги за перевозку велосипедов. Air Astana берет деньги в размере 15.000 тенге или 50 евро в одну сторону.

Возможно правила в Air Astana были написаны, когда 15.000 тенге были равны 50 евро, но я предпочел считать в тенге в этом случае, заплатив в Алматы 15.000 тенге в кассу Air Astana за провоз велосипеда до аэропорта Анталии.

Казус случился на обратном пути. В Анталии сотрудники аэропорта попросили у меня 50 евро. Деваться было некуда. Родных сотрудников Air Astana рядом не было и мне пришлось заплатить 50 евро, вместо 15.000 тенге.

ЗАРЕГИСТРИРУЙТЕ СВОЙ ВЕЛОСИПЕД

Обязательно позвоните в авиакомпанию, которой вы летите, даже если вы купили билет на сайте какого-нибудь онлайн агрегатора. Велосипед нужно зарегистрировать, как отдельный груз. Это не ручная кладь, провоз которой разрешен внутри самолета.

Это не чемодан, который должен быть вместе с другими чемоданами в отсеке для багажа. Это спортивный инвентарь, который необходимо зарегистрировать, как спортивный инвентарь. Он может быть хрупким и дорогим. Здесь нужно особое внимание. Если вы пользуетесь услугами вашего агентства, они с удовольствием сделают это для вас. Ведь они общаются с представителями авиакомпаний каждый день и это не вызывает каких либо проблем для нормального агента.

ПРАВИЛА ТРАНСПОРТИРОВКИ

Обычно правила такие — велосипед должен быть упакован для транспортировки. Это означает, что нужно снять колеса, спустить давление в шинах. Снять педали. Желательно упаковать велосипед в специальный чехол или кейс. Если кейс твердый, то это снимает проблему безопасности велосипеда. У меня был мягкий чехол, который мне любезно предоставили друзья из магазина Lab.ProTeam. За что им огромное спасибо!

Запомните, в ваших же интересах упаковать ваш велосипед компактно и безопасно для перевозки. К примеру, я открутил руль и зафиксировал его ремнями к раме велосипеда, чтобы он не выступал сильно за общие габариты чехла. Кроме этого, я снял седло, так как оно тоже выпячивалось из общих рамок упаковки.

ЕСЛИ НЕТ ЧЕХЛА/КЕЙСА

Знаю, что многие ребята просто перевозят велосипеды в коробках от велосипедов. Заранее берут такую коробку из ближайшего велосипедного магазина и упаковывают велосипед в такую коробку. Удобно, практично и безопасно с точки зрения повреждений.

ГДЕ ХРАНИТЬ ВЕЛОСИПЕД В ОТЕЛЕ?

Сотрудники отеля долго не могли понять, почему я не хочу хранить велосипед в своем номере. Пришлось им объяснять, что у меня трое детей, чемоданы и коляска, и все это в двухкомнатном номере на шестом этаже. Мне трудно будет спускаться и подниматься каждое утро с велосипедом. В общем, после 15-ти минутного объяснения деталей, отель предоставил мне комнату для багажа на первом этаже рядом с главным входом. Обычно эта комната используется для временного хранения багажа приезжающих и уезжающих гостей. И теперь там хранился велосипед одного странного туриста.

НУЖНЫ ЛИ ЭТИ МУЧЕНИЯ?

Да, нужны! За время отдыха мне удалось объездить все большие и мелкие дороги в радиусе 50км вокруг отеля. Увидеть жизнь местных жителей, которых не увидишь сидя в отеле или посещая туристические места. Это были обычные фермеры, которые выращивали бананы, апельсины и гранат. Яблоки у них не растут, кстати.

Мои тренировки были наполнены утренним морским свежим воздухом, ароматом хвойных деревьев в горах и пением незнакомых видов птиц. Мне удалось познакомиться с разными людьми только потому, что я был на велосипеде. Люди сами подходили, спрашивали про велосипед, спрашивали откуда я — им было просто интересно.

И главный вывод, который я сделал для себя в этот раз — мне хотелось бы, чтобы мои дети быстрее подросли и мы путешествовали уже с несколькими велосипедами.

Мне так хотелось показать эти красоты своей семье, но когда я приезжал в отель и поднимался в номер, они еще тихо спали. Так что, это не последняя моя поездка с велосипедом!

You may also like

Добавить комментарий

Ваш адрес email не будет опубликован. Обязательные поля помечены *